05
Aug
10

htrbbq3: prelude to cat herding

After dinner at the first BBQ

The 3rd annual BBQ at the Redneck Ranch is only about a week away. I made the first one two years ago, a small intimate group of about 6 folk, good food and conversation, my kind of get together. HTR said that lots of people showed up last year (say 30 to 40?) and locals get an invite, not just riders, so that keeps the conversation on the diverse side and plenty of folks to play redneck golf or washers.

There may be even more attendees this year as the main dish is comprised of 12 god damned roasting hens! So there will be some serious fire tending on Saturday morning.

Wanting some sort of task to do (or to avoid the crowd) I volunteered to offer services as sous chef. I have the time to arrive early, I enjoy cooking, and I used to hold dinners for 4 couples back when I sold Saladmaster cookware.

To complicate the weekend, HTR has invited an additional group to arrive on Friday for an extra day before the regular crowd arrives, so that ups the potential count of people over a growing length of time. So we may be looking two evening meals and Sat. & Sun. breakfast. Since none of these folk are arriving in a tour bus, but dribbling in one by two starting a midnight Thursday night (from both coasts no less!) thru Saturday afternoon, the event has no formal start time which makes meal planning a farce. At least we have a set dinner time for Saturdays big feed, but that’s it.

So I got an email last night that started the planning and I offered some suggestions. I couldn’t offer up any advice, per se, but I’ve always got a suggestion up my sleeve. I’m planning on chaos, but if we can sprinkle that with some advanced planning we can pull it off. I hope, maybe .. 🙂

By arriving early I get my pick of yard space for the tent. From the size of the event, I suspect the Redneck Ranch is gonna take on a Haitian feel when all the campers roll in and get set up.

1 Response to “htrbbq3: prelude to cat herding”


  1. August 9, 2010 at 3:40 am

    Well, the cat herding is half the fun!


Leave a Reply

Why is this?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


